Since when does good news make you want to throw up?

Today I heard the best news I have had all year.  And it made me almost sick.  Believe me it was good news.  Wonderful, joyful, knock me to my knees news, almost had to visit the bathroom news.

The radiation my dad went through earlier this year is working.  If I believed in a god, I would be thanking him/she/it.

Thank you, thank you, thank you.

I did not realize how much my body was stewing on this.  Whatever poison of worry that was running in the background of my soul was released.  I was immediately drained, exhausted.  I wonder if I could have used the sick bed at work to cry my eyes out?  I have to sign a log sheet explaining why I need the room.  I wonder if “my dad will live” counts.

He adds the disclaimer that he is not cancer free yet.  Knowing dad, he probably wants to keep using this so someone will bring him ice cream.  Don’t worry dad, you have your knee surgery coming and after that your other knee…plenty of opportunities to be waited on coming your way. 

Oh, and love…lots and lots of love.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Richard Birdsall
    Sep 12, 2011 @ 21:24:00

    I can stretch this sympathy thing out for a long, long, time. At least six months. And then, if I am lucky, maybe somethinbg else will go wrong. Love you lots, Dad

    Reply

  2. grumpybutterfly
    Sep 13, 2011 @ 05:32:56

    Make it something less terrifying, like a hang nail or hemmeroids. Or laryngitis, now that’s a good one. :).
    So you glad you passed your test. We still need you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

